Walgreens’ Ed Cohen wins Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. The Illinois Pharmacists Association presented Ed Cohen, director of RDUR clinical operations at Walgreens Health Initiatives, with Elan Biopharmaceuticals’ Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award

A longtime member of the American Pharmacists Association, Cohen has served as chair of the administrative section of APhA’s Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management. He also currently serves on the board of directors of the IPhA.

“Cohen received the Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award because of his strong influence on the pharmacists he has managed,” the IPhA stated. “His efforts in implementing pharmaceutical care in a chain/community pharmacy setting have been well noted and recognized. He has been an active proponent of the Ten City Challenge, a program initiated by the APhA Foundation, which expands the diabetic patient self-management concept developed in the Asheville Project.”

After owning an independent pharmacy for many years, Cohen moved into the corporate sector as director of pharmacy for Dominick’s Finer Foods, a division of Safeway, where he held the position of chief pharmacy officer for the supermarket chain—with 91 pharmacies in the Chicago area—with pharmacy sales of $145 million annually.

Among his many awards, Cohen is also a past recipient of the 2007 LittleJohn Award, presented by Midwestern University, and the Chicago College of Pharmacy Alumnus of The Year in 2002.

Login or Register to post a comment.