Texas community pharmacist named 2013 NCPA Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year

ORLANDO, Fla. — Ed Horton, owner of Tanglewood Pharmacy and Medical Supplies in Stephenville, Texas, has been named the 2013 NCPA Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year, an award sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories. Horton received his award on Sunday during the First General Session of the 115th Annual NCPA Convention and Trade Exposition held here.   

“In addition to running a highly successful and award-winning pharmacy, Ed has consistently demonstrated strong leadership on behalf of local, state and national associations as a founding member of the Alliance of Independent Pharmacists of Texas and in his assistance to pharmacy students," stated NCPA president Donnie Calhoun.    

The Independent Pharmacist of the Year award recognizes an independent pharmacist for exemplary leadership and commitment to independent pharmacy and to their community. The award is named in honor of someone who exemplified these qualities: Willard B. Simmons, a former executive secretary of NCPA — then the National Association of Retail Druggists — and long-time NCPA Foundation trustee.  

Horton received his Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from the University of Houston in 1974. Horton became owner of the Kemp Family Pharmacy the next year. In 1985, he sold the pharmacy to move back to West Texas where he was raised. In 1986, he opened Tanglewood Pharmacy and Medical Supplies, which today includes walk-in patients, institutional care, drug rehabilitation facilities, facilities for the mentally handicapped, hospice care, home infusion, compounding and hormone replacement therapy. 

Horton gained a reputation as a pioneer in the industry for the extremely effective way in which he interacted with patients about the importance of their medications and how to utilize them properly. His pharmacy has been voted the best pharmacy in Erath County every year since 1997 by readers of the Stephenville Empire Tribune, and he was also voted the best pharmacist in 2002. 

In addition to his pharmacy practice and membership, among other things, Horton is a member of NCPA, the Texas Pharmacy Association (where he served as their director from 2002 to 2005 and president for 2007 to 2008), the American Pharmacists Association and the Alliance of Independent Pharmacists of Texas (where he currently sits on the board).

Login or Register to post a comment.