PhRMA names new chairman

WASHINGTON The Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America elected Pfizer president and CEO Jeffrey Kindler as its board chairman Thursday at the trade organization’s annual meeting in Washington.

PhRMA also elected Sanofi-Aventis CEO Christopher Viehbacher as chairmen-elect of the board of directors and Eli Lilly & Co. president, CEO and chairman John Lechleiter as board treasurer. Kindler succeeds AstraZeneca executive director and CEO David Brennan as chairman.

“Great leadership requires patients, decisiveness, intelligence, execution and compassion,” PhRMA president and CEO Billy Tauzin said. “David encompasses all of these qualities and much more.”

Login or Register to post a comment.