NPA names winners of annual awards

WASHINGTON — The Natural Products Association has named the winners of its 18th annual NPA Awards, which will be presented this June during the association's annual trade show and convention.

The 2011 NPA Awards recipients are:

  • President's Award: David Seckman, former executive director and CEO for NPA;

  • Burton Kallman Scientific Award: Anthony Almada, who co-founded such companies as Experimental and Applied Sciences, ImagiNutrition and Fein Innovations;

  • Rachel Carson Environmental Award: Paul Anastas, an assistant administrator for the Environmental Protection Agency's Office of Research and Development;

  • Industry Champion Awards: Frank Lampe, co-founder of Natural Business Communications; Howard Schiffer, founder of Vitamin Angels; Debra Short, co-owner of House of Health, a small natural products retail chain; and Marc Ullman, chair of the Legal Advisory Counsel of the Natural Products Foundation;

  • Clinician Awards: James LaValle, educator, clinician and founder of the LaValle Metabolic Institute; and Michael Lyon, medical and research director of the Canadian Center for Functional Medicine; and

  • Socially Responsible Retailer Award: Community Foods Co-op, which has been in operation since 1970.

"The NPA Awards celebrate people and companies who inspire us with their accomplishments and innovation, as well as their support of the natural products industry in America," said John Gay, NPA executive director and CEO. "NPA is proud to honor these award winners, and we hope they serve as an inspiration to others."

The NPA Awards will be presented during Natural Products Association MarketPlace in Las Vegas.

Login or Register to post a comment.