NCPA recognizes three independent pharmacists for industry, community contributions

ORLANDO, Fla. — The National Community Pharmacists Association on Monday recognized a number of independent operators for their contributions to the industry and their communities. 

California pharmacy owner I.R. Patel received the NARD Ownership Award from the NACP Foundation. The NARD Ownership Award, now in its second year, recognizes an independent pharmacist who embraces the entrepreneurial spirit through promotion and demonstrated excellence in the field of community pharmacy ownership. 

NCPA Foundation trustee Charles West with I.R. Patel

Mike James, the owner of two pharmacies in Raleigh, N.C., was honored as the recipient of the 2013 John W. Dargavel Medal. Sponsored by McKesson, this annual award honors an individual whose contributions on behalf of independent pharmacy embody the spirit of leadership and accomplishment personified by John Dargavel, who was executive secretary of the National Association of Retail Druggists, now NCPA, from 1933 to 1961. 

Tennessee's Phil LaFoy, owner and president of Tennessee's Blount Discount Pharmacy, was named the winner of the 2013 NCPA Prescription Drug Safety Award. Sponsored by Purdue Pharma, the award recognizes pharmacists who have reached out in their communities to provide education on the benefits of the correct use of prescription drug products and the hazards associated with their misuse.

Login or Register to post a comment.