NCPA develops LTC advisory board

ALEXANDRIA, Va. — The National Community Pharmacists Association has created a new advisory board to help the organization’s push to expand long-term care pharmacy programming for its members.

The new group will play a key role in helping the NCPA to address the business impact of proposed government policy on independent pharmacy. Members include:

  • Jim McMackin of Wilson Pharmacy, Johnson City, Tenn.;

  • Dennis Conlin of Conlin’s Pharmacy, Methuen, Mass.;

  • Brian Beach of Kelley-Ross Pharmacy, Seattle;

  • Jim Dunham of Americare, Cookeville, Tenn.;

  • Stephen Carroll of All Care, Arkadelphia, Ark.;

  • Rick Steinhauser of Merwin LTC Pharmacy, Minneapolis;

  • Sharlea Leatherwood of Great Oak Pharmacy, Gladstone, Mo.;

  • Mike Flint of Mallatt Pharmacy, Madison, Wis.;

  • Michele Belcher of Grants Pass Pharmacy, Grants Pass, Ore.;

  • Ryan Beddingfield of United Pharmacy Services, Norcross, Ga.;

  • Russ Zakarian of Model Drug, Kingsburg, Calif.;

  • Paula Perrone of PerroneRx, Fort Worth, Texas;

  • Vernon Massengill of North Village Pharmacy, Yanceyville, N.C.;

  • Mary Ludlow of White Oak Pharmacy, Spartanburg, S.C.;

  • Patty Crawford of LTC Pharmacy Solutions, Richmond, Va.; and

  • Jeff Schneider of Legacy Consultant Pharmacy, Winston-Salem, N.C.

In related news, the NCPA announced that it had reformatted and improved its community-aging, assisted-living and long-term care program to include education opportunities for both beginning and seasoned practitioners.

“[The] NCPA is committed to meeting advocacy needs and providing business solutions to LTC pharmacies, and these are important steps toward that goal,” said Robert Greenwood, NCPA president. “The year 2011 will be filled with challenges and opportunities for LTC pharmacies, and NCPA will give independent long-term care pharmacy providers a strong, clear voice in their communities, Congress, the courts and in federal agencies.”

Login or Register to post a comment.