NASPA honors 42 pharmacists with innovation award

Award recognizes innovations in pharmacy that improve patient care

MAPLE GROVE, Minn. — More than three-dozen pharmacists in 41 states will receive the 2013 National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations' Excellence in Innovation Award, which is designed to recognize pharmacists who have demonstrated significant innovation in their practice.

The award, sponsored by drug maker Upsher-Smith Labs, focuses on those innovations in practice, method or service that directly or indirectly improve patient care and the advancement of the pharmacy profession.

"Upsher-Smith is proud to sponsor NASPA's efforts to recognize these talented innovators in the field of pharmacy," Upsher-Smith president and CEO Mark Evenstad said. "As a pharmacist, our chairman, Kenneth Evenstad, has instilled a great respect for the role of the pharmacist throughout Upsher-Smith. We believe the impact pharmacists can have on patient wellness and their passion for improving patient lives is truly inspiring."

The recipients of the award are Jeffrey Jerkins, Alabama; Amy Kennedy, Arizona; Lanita White, Arkansas; Charles Caley, Connecticut; William Harbester, Delaware; Sonia Martinez, Florida; Bobby Price, Georgia; Kara Izumi, Hawaii; Izabella Wentz, Illinois; Gloria Sachdev, Indiana; Heather Ourth, Iowa; Lisa Everett, Kansas; Buddy Wheeler, Kentucky; Errol Duplantis, Louisiana; Steve Maki, Maine; John Motsko, Maryland; Geoffrey Twigg, Maryland; Allison Paquin, Massachusetts; the FirstLight Health System Pharmacy Team, Minnesota; Robert Lomenick, Mississippi; Paul Perniciaro, Missouri; Matthew Bowman, Montana; Ajay Gupta, New Hampshire; Anne Crochunis, New Jersey; Jennifer Ortega, New Mexico; Elizabeth Phillips, New York; Stephen Eckel, North Carolina; Thrifty White Pharmacies, North Dakota; Joseph Dula, Ohio; John Crumly, Oklahoma; Bill Boyce, Oregon; Robert Maher, Pennsylvania; Anita Jackson, Rhode Island; Jessica Puckett-Beasley, South Carolina; Ryan Moss, Tennessee; Debra Lopez, Texas; Brandon Jennings, Utah; Michelle Herbert Thomas, Virginia; Stephen Setter, Washington; Denise Walbrandt Pigarelli, Wisconsin; and Scot Schmidt, Wyoming.


Login or Register to post a comment.