NACDS Foundation awards scholarships to four pharmacy students

ARLINGTON, Va.  — The National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation announced on Friday the recipients of the Pharmacy Student Scholarship Awards.  

The NACDS Foundation awarded $5,000 each to four pharmacy students. The recipients were chosen for their work that shares the NACDS Foundation’s commitment to benefit patients, improve outcomes and advance public health.

“We are pleased to recognize the work of these high-caliber pharmacy students by awarding each of them the NACDS Foundation Pharmacy Student Scholarship Award,” stated NACDS Foundation president Kathleen Jaeger. “Each exemplifies one of the key missions of the NACDS Foundation in supporting pharmacy education programs that focus on patient-centered care in the community pharmacy setting, and we applaud them for their academic accomplishments.”

The recipients are:

  • Jessica Carver, Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy. Through active participation and leadership in her school pharmacy organizations, Carver has demonstrated an interest in advocating for issues that advance patient care in the community pharmacy setting.
  • Katherine Fischer, University of the Incarnate Word Feik School of Pharmacy. Understanding change is needed in the delivery of patient care services, Fischer’s vision of pharmacy includes an expansion of clinical services and health testing in community practice, as well as increased engagement in community outreach.
  • Erin Schaffer, University of Toledo College of Pharmacy. Schaffer has demonstrated a commitment to public health, and has a positive vision for the expansion of the role of medication management in meeting patients’ healthcare needs and improving pharmaceutical care and outcomes.
  • Kyle Townswick, University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy. Townswick, a Pharm.D./MBA student, has demonstrated an interest in care coordination and is dedicated to improving the patient’s experience.


Login or Register to post a comment.