NACDS Foundation unveils pharmacy scholarships

ALEXANDRIA, Va. — A total of 58 pharmacy school students from 39 colleges and schools of pharmacy have been awarded scholarships by the National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation, the group announced Tuesday.

The scholarships are valued at a total of $190,000. Money to fund the scholarship program comes from NACDS member and associate member companies that support the concept of pharmacy education, and is handed out to each of the nation’s more than 90 schools of pharmacy via a drawing held during the NACDS Annual Meeting each spring.

“As a pharmacist, it is an honor to award these scholarships to deserving pharmacy students,” said NACDS Foundation president Edith Rosato. “These students embody the hopes and dreams of every pharmacist and are a testament to the future health and well-being of patients they will serve."

“Congratulations to the scholarship winners, and thank you to the generous benefactors and supporters of the NACDS Foundation,” Rosato concluded.

Among the 58 winners are eight “exceptional” students receiving “named” scholarships, NACDS said. Those eight scholarships were created to honor distinguished pharmacy leaders and companies “that share the NACDS Foundation’s commitment to education, research and charitable work,” the group said today in a statement.

The eight top winners include:

  • Erin Coughlin of Northeastern University School of Pharmacy, Bouvé College of Health Sciences, and Daniel Salzwedel of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Pharmacy, who each received the Leonard J. DeMino Pharmacy Student scholarships;

  • Gabriella Blyumin of Nova Southeastern University College of Pharmacy, and Lisa Dertinger of the North Dakota State University College of Pharmacy, Nursing and Allied Sciences, received the Edmond Fougera Scholarships;

  • Thanh-Tam Le of the University of California, San Francisco School of Pharmacy, and Marisa Sochacki of the University of Toledo College of Pharmacy, received the Taro Research Foundation Scholarships; and

  • Justin Balint of Wilkes University Nesbitt School of Pharmacy, and Tamkeen Quraishi of the University of New England College of Pharmacy, were awarded the Teva Pharmaceuticals Robert J. Bolger scholarships.

Login or Register to post a comment.