NABP passes resolutions, recognizes leaders for their contributions at association annual meeting

MOUNT PROSPECT, Ill. — Delegates from the member boards of pharmacy adopted eight resolutions during the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy 110th Annual Meeting held in Phoenix. 

The resolutions addressed the following:

  • Collaborating with federal and state agencies regarding policies surrounding the illegal importation of prescription drugs;
  • Convening a task force to examine strategies for preventing and reacting to pharmacy robberies and thefts;
  • Reaffirming NABP’s existing policy that encourages pharmacies to stop selling tobacco products and work toward a smoke-free society;
  • Convening a task force to develop standards to ensure regular, consistent and appropriate use of prescription monitoring program (PMP) data, as well as facilitating cooperation between state PMPs, NABP PMP InterConnect, other healthcare entities and state health data exchanges;
  • Encouraging the development and availability of veterinary pharmacology education to ensure the competence of pharmacists dispensing medication for veterinary patients; and
  • Supporting Food and Drug Administration and appropriate state agencies regarding the regulation of electronic cigarettes and liquid nicotine products.

Additionally, recognition resolutions honoring members of the Association who have passed away or are seriously ill were approved, and NABP honored leaders who have worked with dedication to ensure NABP’s continued service to the regulation of pharmacy practice and its efforts to assist the state boards of pharmacy in protecting the public health.

Those honored leaders included Gay Dodson, who was named NABP honorary president. The NABP President's Award was given to Karen Ryle. The association recognized the New Jersey State Board of Pharmacy with the Fred T. Mahaffey Award. David Dryden was recognized with the John F. Atkinson Service Award. The Henry Cade Memorial Award was given to Kate Douglass. And the Lester E. Hosto Distinguished Service Award was awarded to Howard Anderson, Jr.  

Login or Register to post a comment.