Mylan's Tony Mauro elected as GPhA chairman

Sandoz president, CEO Don DeGolyer elected as vice chairman

WASHINGTON — The president of one of the world's largest generic drug manufacturers will serve as chairman of the Generic Pharmaceutical Association, the organization said Thursday.

The GPhA announced that it had elected Mylan president Tony Mauro as chairman. Mauro previously served as the organization's vice chairman. "With growing populations, economic recessions and increasing healthcare costs, the need for widespread access to more affordable medicine has never been so great," Mauro said. "The generic pharmaceutical industry is stronger than it has ever been, and I see tremendous opportunities ahead for our association and for our industry."

Meanwhile, Sandoz president and CEO Don DeGolyer was elected vice chairman, while Momenta Pharmaceuticals president Craig Wheeler was reelected as secretary treasurer. Other board members include:

  • Debra Barrett, SVP government and public affairs, Teva Pharmaceuticals;
  • Carole Ben-Maimon, president of global pharmaceuticals, Impax Labs;
  • Paul Bisaro, president and CEO, Watson Pharmaceuticals;
  • Doug Boothe, president and CEO, Actavis;
  • Chuck Caprariello, VP corporate communications and government affairs, Ranbaxy;
  • Don DeGolyer, president and CEO, Sandoz;
  • John Ducker, president and CEO, APP Pharmaceuticals;
  • Jeffrey Glazer, CEO, Heritage Pharmaceuticals;
  • David Klaum, SVP and GM, Fougera;
  • Thomas Moore, president, U.S., Hospira; and
  • Joseph Renner, president and CEO, Zydus Pharmaceuticals USA.

Mauro, DeGolyer, Wheeler, Barrett, Ben-Maimon, Bisaro, Boothe, Caprariello and Moore will serve on the GPhA executive committee.


Interested in this topic? Sign up for our weekly DSN Collaborative Care e-newsletter.

Login or Register to post a comment.