McKesson announces 2011 Pharmacy of the Year awards

SAN FRANCISCO — McKesson earlier this month named its 2011 Pharmacy of the Year awards at the wholesaler’s annual McKesson ideaShare Conference.

This year's winners, recognized during a special awards ceremony, included a national grand prize winner and four category winners. McKesson's Pharmacy of the Year awards recognize independent pharmacies that demonstrate a strong commitment to advancing clinical excellence, personalized care and retail best practices.

The 2011 grand prize for overall excellence was awarded to Birch Health Mart Pharmacy in Tooele, Utah. Birch Health Mart Pharmacy has been a McKesson customer since 2007, and is owned and operated by Sheldon Birch. In addition to running a successful business, Birch actively is collaborating with other healthcare providers in his community to address the increasing occurrence of diabetes.

"While McKesson and Health Mart provide pharmacists with the tools to help them succeed, at the end of the day, it's all about the relationships that independent-pharmacy owners and pharmacists have with their patients and communities that make them successful," stated Rex Catton, SVP for McKesson U.S. Pharmaceutical.

"Birch Health Mart Pharmacy showcases the important role that community pharmacists can play across the country," Catton added. "By delivering exceptional, personalized care to its patients, Birch Health Mart Pharmacy is demonstrating that the independent pharmacy can compete and grow in today's market, and achieve new levels of clinical and business success."

"It's important to me that my pharmacies are viewed as trustworthy and reliable healthcare resources for the community, and that my staff listens and engages with each patient as an individual," commented Sheldon Birch. "Partnering with McKesson and embracing the solutions and services offered by Health Mart enables me to focus my time and efforts on customer service and clinical care for my patients. I am honored to receive this award from McKesson as it validates our commitment to the community."

Four additional pharmacies received awards in individual categories: Exceptional Growth to Foster’s Health Mart Pharmacy in Mount Vernon, Ohio; Innovation in Customer Service to Tyson Medical Center in Holly Springs, Miss.; Outstanding Effectiveness to Apple Discount Drugs Health Mart Pharmacy in Salisbury, Md.; and Superior Efficiency to Moody Health Mart Pharmacy in Sparta, Ill.


Login or Register to post a comment.