Drake University's pharmacy college honors PTCB executive director, CEO

WASHINGTON Drake University’s College of Pharmacy has given its 2010 Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver Medal of Honor to the leader of a pharmacy technician group.

The Pharmacy Technician Certification Board announced Tuesday that executive director and CEO Melissa Murer Corrigan had received the medal, which the college, in Des Moines, Iowa, gives to individuals whom it considers to show dedication to the pharmacy profession. Murer Corrigan has served in her position at the PTCB since its 1995 inception.

“Under Melissa’s guidance and leadership, PTCB has positioned pharmacy technicians as an integral part of enhanced pharmacy practice and improved patient care,” American Pharmacists Association EVP and CEO Thomas Menighan said. “Trained, skilled pharmacy technicians empower pharmacists to spend time with patients to optimize their drug therapy and achieve the most positive outcomes possible.”

Login or Register to post a comment.