Community pharmacy leaders recognized by NACDS Foundation benefactors

SAN DIEGO The charitable arm of the National Association of Chain Drug Stores received contributions from several benefactors as they presented awards to community pharmacy leaders at the NACDS 2010 Pharmacy and Technology Conference this week.

The awards included:

  • Fougera Pharmacy Scholarship Award: David Klaum of Fougera presented this award to Larry Merlo, CVS Caremark president and COO and NACDS chairman. In Merlo’s honor, Fougera made a contribution of $25,000 to the NACDS Foundation Pharmacy Student Scholarship program to support the development of future leaders in patient care and to recognize pharmacy students who have a strong interest in pursuing a career in community pharmacy;
  • IMS Health Pharmacy Partnership Award: James J. Hunter of IMS Health presented the Pharmacy Partnership Award to this year’s recipient, Costco Wholesale dba Costco Pharmacies VP pharmacy Vic Curtis. A contribution of $10,000 was presented in Curtis’ honor to the NACDS Foundation. This award honors an individual or group that values the importance of data in fact-based communications and corporate planning;
  • Novartis Pharmaceutical Alliance Award: David Gulick of Novartis presented the Novartis Pharmaceutical Alliance Award to Hy-Vee VP pharmacy and 2010 NACDS Pharmacy and Technology Conference chairman Robert Egeland. This award is presented in recognition of leadership, commitment and service to the pharmacy industry. Egeland currently serves on the NACDS Policy Council and Regional Chain Committee. He also serves on the State of Iowa Pseudophedrine Advisory Council and on the advisory boards of numerous pharmacy schools. Accompanying the award, a $10,000 contribution was donated by Novartis Pharmaceuticals to the NACDS Foundation in Egeland’s name;
  • UCB Leadership in Pharmacy Award: Mike Howe of UCB presented the award to three recipients -- Association of State and Territorial Health Officials executive director Paul Jarris; Kerr Drug VP pharmacy and government relations and NACDS policy council chairman Mark Gregory, on behalf of community pharmacy; and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention senior adviser Lisa Koonin. The award recognizes leadership and actions that have had a significant impact on the profession of pharmacy. A contribution in the amount of $10,000 is presented to the NACDS Foundation for each award recipient;

  • Community Pharmacy Faculty Award: NACDS Foundation president Edith Rosato presented the Community Pharmacy Faculty Award to Kristen Finley Sobota, Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialists assistant professor of pharmacy practice at Ohio Northern University Raabe College of Pharmacy. This award was established to recognize a community pharmacy faculty member who has made significant contributions to the practice of community pharmacy through innovations in patient care. The award is accompanied by a $5,000 stipend to the recipient’s academic institution; and

  • Community Pharmacy Preceptor of the Year Award: Sam Boulton of Apotex presented this award to Chasity Mease, clinical coordinator of the Walgreens Patient Care Center and shared faculty with Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. This award recognizes a pharmacy preceptor who has made significant contributions to patient care through the education of pharmacy students at Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience rotations in a community pharmacy practice setting. The award is accompanied by a $5,000 stipend for the recipient’s academic institution.

“The NACDS Foundation joins our benefactors in honoring these distinguished community pharmacy leaders and educators for their outstanding contributions,” said Edith Rosato, NACDS Foundation president. “We are pleased to recognize their achievements in advancing pharmacy care on behalf of patients.”

Login or Register to post a comment.