APhA seeking nominations for Schaefer, Humphrey awards

WASHINGTON The American Pharmacists Association said Wednesday it is seeking nominations for several profession-wide awards and honors, to be presented at the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition in Seattle from March 25 to 28, 2011.

The pharmacy organization is accepting picks for three awards: the Hugo H. Schaefer Award, Hubert H. Humphrey Award and Honorary Membership. Nominees for the Schaefer and Humphrey Awards must be APhA members, and nominations must be received at APhA headquarters no later than Sept 15.

The Hugo H. Schaefer Award, established in 1964, recognizes APhA members who have made outstanding voluntary contributions to society, the profession of pharmacy and the APhA. The Hubert H. Humphrey Award, created in 1978, recognizes APhA members who have made major contributions in government and/or legislative service at the local, state or national level. Honorary membership is conferred upon individuals, either within or outside the pharmacy profession “whose activities and achievements have had a significant impact upon public health, the profession and its practitioners,” the group noted.

Nominations should be made on an official nomination form, which may be obtained by writing to: APhA Awards and Honors Program, 2215 Constitution Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20037-2985. Requests for forms also can be made via fax to (202) 429-6300, or e-mail to Brian Lawson, blawson@aphanet.org.

Additional information can be found at Pharmacist.com/awards.

Login or Register to post a comment.