APhA to present two new scholarships next year at annual meeting

WASHINGTON — The American Pharmacists Association Foundation has created two new scholarships that will be presented at the APhA’s annual gathering next year.

The George F. Archambault Scholarship, created by the Archambault Foundation, and the Charlie Thomas Scholarship, created by Phi Lambda Sigma, will be presented at the 2012 APhA Annual Meeting and Convention in New Orleans during the Contributors’ Breakfast. Phi Lambda Sigma is the national Pharmacy Leadership Society.

The first scholarship honors George F. Archambault, former chief of the pharmacy branch of the Public Health Service Division of Hospitals and later, pharmacy liaison officer to the Office of the Surgeon General of the United States.

The second scholarship honors Charles C. Thomas, who founded Phi Lambda Sigma while a student at Auburn University and currently is pharmacy director for the Alabama Department of Public Health and supervisor for the state’s controlled substances database.

Login or Register to post a comment.